Am I finished yet?

You’re 32,000 words into the novel you’ve been working on for half of a year now. You’re struggling, you’re tired, and you have finals to worry about- yet something still draws you in. You could put the novel aside, but somehow, you feel that if you do that you will never finish.

I can’t be the only one who feels this way. People like me are cursed to procrastination which stems from just wanting to be done already. But how do you stop the procrastination?

Make a schedule. I cannot even stress enough how much this helped me (Target sells some pretty cute agenda books so you won’t break the bank). I know we all used to make fun of our moms and grandmas for writing everything down on a calendar, but there’s a ton of usefulness to their eccentric ways.

My favorite thing lately has been routine. I take a look at my schedule, set a bedtime and a time to wake up, then I budget the rest accordingly. I eat at the same times everyday (and I’ve actually lost a ton of weight, but I can’t say whether or not that’s related), and my procrastination has gone way down. I even time my TV shows.

Get yourself a calendar to keep on your wall, or even one of those cute pinterest whiteboard calendars. That’s an easy way to keep track of what you need to do that day. It keeps you focused and keeps your stress at a minimum- so why wouldn’t you?

This is a time to learn strategies to cope with adult life- a life that you’ll have to schedule all by yourself. Most importantly, don’t take on more than you can handle. You have a long life ahead of you, you can add stuff on a little at a time. There’s no rush.

College is tough, especially for us kids who have other creative endeavors or jobs, or those of us who are just really busy with life. Procrastination can be a bummer, and with finals coming up, it’s important to keep ourselves happy, healthy, and on schedule.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

