The Sin of Certainty by Peter Enns: Where was this when I was questioning faith?

Rating: 5/5

I’m going to try to do this without quotes or spoilers. (I listened to it on Audiobook, quotes are tough)

I know I’m a self professed Atheist but I love this book, and it’s not because it’s so bad that it’s good. No, it’s quite the opposite. Peter Enns is an amazing writer, and he makes an awesome point.

The entire premise of this novel is an argument about faith. I have a bit of an outside perspective on this.

To most Christians that I discuss this with, Faith is the absolute knowledge that Christ is our savior and God is exactly the way he is in the bible; however, Enns paints a different picture.

The Sin of Certainty argues that God desires your trust more than he desires absolute correctness in what the bible means.

Now, as an Atheist, it was weird reading a book about Christianity, but I have to say that had I read this book when I was questioning, I’d probably still be a Christian.

I really agree with the message. What is faith? Is it being 100% completely sure of what you believe? No! Because in order to have faith, there has to be doubt, not only in others, but in yourself. If you have faith that Christ is your savior, than your faith will survive the doubt.

Stop worrying about what gay people are doing, start teaching your kids evolution. In the long run, those things are trivial. There is NO requirement for the bible to be 100% completely accurate in order for you to believe in God. Take it for the time.

Peter Enns makes references to Bridge to Terabithia, Bill Maher and Richard Dawkins, but no, he doesn’t take cracks at them. Instead he admits that they have some solid points, and that a few things have even inspired a crisis of faith in himself, but that’s okay.

I needed this. I needed to know that it was okay to question faith, rather than to feel as if it was a lost cause and that I was out of the game. It was denounce religion or be ostracized for my questions. This book gives many Christians  and agnostics, and even former Christians a voice and validation.

This is a Christian speaking out against the Evangelical state of mind, and I love it. It’s truly inspired me to explore my faith a little bit farther. It’s well worth the read.

Next time you try to inspire faith in someone, instead of A Case for Christ, maybe consider The Sin of Certainty. You’ll get a lot farther.

Over all, I love The Sin of Certainty, and you will too.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

