Recipe: Gluten-free BBQ Lime Chicken

So, I’ve never been out about my passion for cooking, but I’ve decided that I’m going to post my creations once a week on this blog to give some of my fellow gluten-free friends some new things to try!

My boyfriend is from Memphis, so he likes BBQ things.

I happen to like BBQ things too. Finding gluten-free BBQ in restaurants is hard to do, so we have to mostly improvise.

Feeds 3 to 4

For this recipe you will need:

  • Asparagus (just one bundle)
  •  One bag of white pearl onions
  • Four cloves of garlic
  • 6 Drumsticks
  • One lime
  • Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ (it’s gluten-free and yummy!)
  • A white wine (I used St. Michael’s Vineyard’s Gollywobbler White, but it’s a MD exclusive)
  • Butter

I work in relative amounts when I cook, so bear with me. The measurements may not be as they seem.

Here’s what I did!

  1. I got a large, glass oven pan and laid the asparagus into it.
  2. I peeled the onions and cut them in half, and laid them into the bowl as well.
  3. I chopped the four garlic cloves and threw them into the asparagus and onions,
  4. I cut the lime into quarters and juiced half of it into a separate bowl.
  5. I melted 1 tbsp of unsalted, unsweetened butter and added it to the lime juice.
  6. I poured the butter and lime juice onto the asparagus and onions.

For the chicken marinade I used:

  • The other half of the lime
  • about 1/2 cup of sweet baby ray’s
  • 1/2 cup of Gollywobbler White mixed together
  • Let marinade for at least an hour (4 to 6 for better results. I was in a pinch.

After preparing the vegetables, I:

  1. Laid the chicken legs on top of the vegetables.
  2. Pre-heat the oven to 300 degrees.
  3. Overtop of the chicken, pour the rest of the marinade juice. Add extra BBQ if needed.
  4. Cook the chicken in the oven for 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Have fun!

IMG_20160722_220611794
It tasted better than my photography skills look
Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

